Bayer Cuts Two Management Board Members

12.09.2019 -

Bayer is reducing its board of management from seven to five members as part of its previously announced cost-cutting measures. Hartmut Klusik and Kemal Malik will leave on Dec. 31, 2019 and their responsibilities will be reallocated.

“By streamlining the structure of the board of management, we are optimizing the allocation of responsibilities and contributing to the company’s ongoing efficiency program,” said Werner Wenning, chairman of the non-executive supervisory board.

Klusik, who has been a board member since January 2016, is responsible for human resources, technology and sustainability. He is also Bayer’s labor director. Malik, a member since February 2014, is responsible for innovation as well as the Asia-Pacific region.

Werner Baumann, chairman of the board of management, will assume responsibility for human resources, sustainability and Leaps by Bayer – a technology investment unit – as well as taking on the role of  labor director.

Going forward, Bayer’s divisions will be responsible for the entire value chain, from research and development through to production and marketing, including functions such as corporate quality and health, safety and environment.

As of Jan. 1, 2020, the board of management will consist of Baumann, chief financial officer Wolfgang Nickl and division presidents Liam Condon (Crop Science), Stefan Oelrich (Pharmaceuticals) and Heiko Schipper (Consumer Health).

Last November, Bayer unveiled plans to cut 12,000 jobs across its global workforce as it tries to reduce debt after its $63 billion takeover of Monsanto and settle litigation from Roundup lawsuits.