Thierry Vanlancker to Become Head of Specialty Chemicals at AkzoNobel

08.09.2016 -

AkzoNobel has named Thierry F.J. Vanlancker as the future executive committee member responsible for Specialty Chemicals, effective Feb. 1, 2017. He will succeed Werner Fuhrmann, who has decided to retire next year, after 37 years with the company.

Vanlancker, a Belgian national, was most recently president fluoroproducts for Chemours, the spin-off company of DuPont's chemical businesses formed in 2015. He joined DuPont in 1988 and has held a number of senior positions both in Europe and the US.

Commenting on the announcement, AkzoNobel CEO Ton Büchner said: "We are delighted to have such an experienced chemical industry professional as Thierry join AkzoNobel. We look forward to him building on the fantastic momentum Werner has achieved, taking the Specialty Chemicals business to new levels."